Ghana-Cote d’Ivoire to agree on maritime boundary demarcation

Ghana and Cote d’Ivoire are holding the last meeting aimed at implementing the ruling by the Special Chamber of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea (ITLOS) on the maritime boundary.

The 16-member joint implementation committee constituted by Ghana and chaired by the Senior Minister, Mr Yaw Osafo-Maafo, to oversee the implementation process is having the last meeting today August 8, 2018 at the Accra International Conference Center.

The delegation includes the Minister for Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration, Shirley Ayorkor Botchway, the Minister for Justice and Attorney General, Gloria Afua Akuffo, the Chief Director of the Ministry of Energy, Mr Lawrence Apaalse, Rear Admiral Beick-Baffour of the Ghana Armed Forces (Navy).

Others are Mr. Richard Addo-Darko and Nana Adusei Poku of GNPC, Mr. Francis Ackah of Petroleum Commission and Mr. Isaac Larbi of the Survey and Mapping Division.

Senior Minister before the start of the meeting, stated that the parties will continue working together towards the implementation of the ITLOS ruling and to continue further engagements within the context of the Strategic Partnership Agreement (SPA) signed between Ghana and Cote d’Ivoire on October 17, 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *